Collecting my 160th county soon.

When we headed down to South Texas at the end of February  I had every intention of walking in Victoria County.  I collected Refugio County and Jim Wells County but did not get Victoria. So the middle of June we are trying again.

While we were driving around we visited Rockport and I checked and I don’t have that county. We saw a nice little town.  (http://funplacesvisited.wordpress.com/2013/03/03/rockport-tx/)

So I asked the club about hosting a Year Round Event there.  They told me to come up with a walk route.  So in addition to walking in the city of Victoria we will also be doing recon in Rockport which is Aransas County.

I have already used Google’s pedometer software ( http://www.gmap-pedometer.com/ )  to lay out a couple of sample routes.  One a 5K and one an 11K.  We will first drive the route and if it looks presentable we will walk the routes ourselves.  I will report back to the Texas County Walkers and if they like my plan they will sanction the walks for next spring.

 

 

About walktx

I am an avid Volksmarcher. I belong to Texas County Walkers in Mesquite.
This entry was posted in active retirement, day trip, Texas, Travel, Volksmarch, Walking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Collecting my 160th county soon.

  1. jmmines says:

    I thinks this is wonderful. I never thought of walking my whole state. What an adventure that would be.

  2. George says:

    I’m tired already! 🙂

  3. Mike says:

    160 counties! Here in Maryland we only have 23. I’m not sure that I’ve geocached in all of them.

Leave a Reply

