LaMesa (Dawson County) Volksmarch – 12/30/2014

DSCF0980

I walked in LaMesa today to collect my last new county for 2014.  It was 31 degrees with a strong breeze when I started out.  It was 27 degrees and misting rain when I completed the walk.  The pictures are all a little grey because of the lack of sunshine.  The walk started out in downtown.  I passed the above old movie theatre on Main Street.

DSCF0981

I passed the Dawson County Courthouse.

DSCF0982

Not sure what business this is, but I liked the tornado in the window.

DSCF0983

A street lined with graffiti

DSCF0984

A Uniroyal Gal figure, dressed as a Golden Tornado Cheerleader.

DSCF0985

I should know what this cartoon character is called, but it escapes me at the moment.

DSCF0986

Huge Methodist Church.

DSCF0987

Smaller Catholic Church.

DSCF0988

The temperature gauge at the bank.

DSCF0989

Another store had a tornado painted on its window.

DSCF0990

The town clock across from the courthouse.

DSCF0991

An A&W Rootbeer mural.

DSCF0992

Historical marker about a town named Chicago, TX.

DSCF0993

Walk circled a small track in this park.

DSCF0994

Yes, it was cold!!!

About walktx

I am an avid Volksmarcher. I belong to Texas County Walkers in Mesquite.
This entry was posted in active retirement, Family Fun, Texas, Travel, volksmarching, Walking, walking tour and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LaMesa (Dawson County) Volksmarch – 12/30/2014

  1. Sonic the hedgehog. 🙂

  2. mommermom says:

    How fun to see most of your state up close and personal! It must be because it is really cold! !😄

  3. mommermom says:

    I was so interested in your Volkswalk that I checked it out online. Unfortunately we don’t have a group in our immediate area but there is one not too far away that I may check out. Sounds like tons of fun! !

Leave a Reply

